Skip to main content

2015 CWA ATT Utility Operations Bargaining Report #16

Our latest meeting with the Company was another disappointing bargaining session. We were informed the Department will not cease and desist their misguided instructions to Machine Operators regarding performing bore operations in an unsafe manner. The Union advised the Company we have been left few options to protect our members’ safety and collective bargaining rights and that we intend to pursue those to the fullest extent.

There was discussion around a Company proposal regarding definitions and employee classification to clarify their intent, as well as more talks about the cooling safety vest proposal.

The Company rejected Union proposals to reduce the amount of time disciplinary entries remain in employee personnel records and to make improvements to the layoff provisions of the contract.

They also rejected amended/resubmitted Union proposals that would have provided illness pay, double time pay as a deterrent to excessive overtime and additional work functions that would have included satellite television buried wire placement.

In keeping with the spirit of this bargaining session, the Union rejected a Company proposal that would have deleted the inclement weather letter. The intent of their proposal was to have the ability to send people home on unpaid excused time rather than assigning other work during inclement weather.

Through their actions, the Company continues to give the distinct impression they consider their employees merely an expense rather than an asset. Your bargaining team is fighting to change their perception and it is not an easy task. Keep up the good work and support by working safely and participating in the District, State and Local mobilization efforts. They don’t go unnoticed.  

Thank you Alabama Locals for the delicious lunch Tuesday!

Thank you to Local 3314 for the delicious lunch Wednesday!

Work Safe! Stay Strong! Keep Mobilizing!



Your Bargaining Committee:


Billy O’Dell - CWA Rep District 3 - Chair
Ben Price – Kentucky
Gail Shewalter – South Carolina
Jason LaPorte – South Carolina